Presidential Election 2017: Himachal Pradesh Records 100 Per Cent Polling

Fernando Stephens
July 17, 2017

President of India will be elected by the Electoral college comprising of all the elected members of Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha, and Legislative Assemblies of the States in India. The total votes come at around 527,371 with 48.10 percent of votes, according to different sources and statistics available.

Incumbent Pranab Mukherjee's term ends on July 24.

The special pen will have to be returned to the polling staff.

"Before entering the voting chamber, a polling staff will collect personal pens from the voters and hand over the special pen to mark their vote on the ballot paper", an EC spokesperson said.

The development comes a year after the controversial Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana.

The poll panel has also prepared special posters for dos and donts so as to "ensure peaceful poll".

PM Narendra Modi asks states to take strict action against cow vigilantes
He wanted parties to unite against those people who cried political vendetta when the law was taking its own course. However, the TMC has said that they won't attend the all-party meet but will attend Lok Sabha Speaker's meet.

Shimla: Hundred per cent polling was recorded in the voting for the presidential election in Himachal with all 67 MLAs casting their vote. The Election Commission (EC) has appointed several observers to invigilate the conduct of elections.

Voters will be using special violet-ink pens for the first time in the presidential elections to be held on Monday in which National Democratic Alliance's Ram Nath Kovind is pitted against opposition candidate Meira Kumar. The ruling NDA (BJP, SHS, TDP, LJSP, SAD, RLSP, AD, GFP, MGP, AINRC, JKPDP, NPF, NPP, PMK, SDF, SWP) has 237,888 in Lok Sabha and 49,560 votes in Rajya Sabha and in state assemblies it has 239,923 votes in its kitty. Three MPs – Badruddin Ajmal, Siraj Uddin Ajmal and Radheshyam Biswas – will cast their votes in the State Assembly.

Two ballot boxes along with ballot papers in two colours arrived in Bengaluru at the Vidhana Soudha on Sunday from Delhi.

The votes would be counted and results would be announced on July 20.

Forty-one Lok Sabha members including Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath have been allowed to vote in their state assemblies.

Other reports by BadHub

Discuss This Article