Butkus and Hornung Award Watch Lists

Fernando Stephens
July 17, 2017

Texas Longhorns junior linebacker Malik Jefferson's name has been added to yet another preseason watch list.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its eighth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission, and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.

Mike McCray, the senior linebacker from OH, is one of 51 to have his name included in the Butkus Award watch list released Monday.

A fifth MI football player has landed on a preseason watch list. Edwards. Ten Butkus Award recipients have matriculated from current Big Ten schools since the award debuted in 1985, with Ohio State's James Laurinaitis being the most recent Big Ten honoree in 2007.

Bob Wolff, Sportscaster for 8 Decades, Dies at 96
Wolff was also behind the microphone for some of the biggest moments in sports history, including the Giants vs. Sports broadcasting legend Bob Wolff passed away on Saturday at the age of 96 in South Nyack, New York.

Williams is one of 51 candidates - 11 from the SEC - for the Butkus Award. He recorded 76 tackles, 12 1/2 for a loss, had 4 1/2 sacks and two interceptions, earning honorable mention All-Big Ten by the coaches and media.

Okoronkwo is also in the running for the Bednarik and Nagurski awards, given to the nation's top defensive players. He finished third on the team with 62 tackles (42 solo), while totaling 8.5 tackles for loss and 5.5 sacks. He was a second-team Football Writers Association of America honoree, becoming the first Husker freshman to make the FWAA All-America team.

The Butkus Award is named after Dick Butkus, the former Chicago Bears Hall of Fame linebacker who played in eight consecutive Pro Bowls.

Other reports by BadHub

Discuss This Article